Finding the Monster From My Childhood Nightmares

Jenny Lee Corvo
9 min readAug 3, 2021

In my dreams I see the church office, isolated from the rest of my school’s campus, a foggy island holding space for its residents, my deepest fears. Throughout my childhood and adulthood, I’ve dreamt of tornadoes, fires, lightning storms, monsters, and murderers lurking around the corner of the tan brick façade. I’ve only ever dreamt of faceless villains, personifications of the terror I was burdened with in that building at four years old.

From the Student Handbook:

“Proper discipline sets the stage for proper learning. We believe in preventative as well as corrective discipline. This would include positive incentives as well as punitive correction measures. Children need boundaries and consistent leadership to achieve their highest potentials. Although some methods of discipline would, of necessity, vary according to a student’s age and maturity level, our goal would be to provide outward controls until self-control could be taught and then become an integral part of a child’s character. Good discipline is ordained of God. ‘Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.’ Proverbs 22:6”

The pillows and blankets we brought from home stayed in our cubbies all year except for a 30-minute nap time each day. Our tiny Kindergarten hands would reach past our backpacks and…

--

--

Jenny Lee Corvo

Writer and author. Expanding genres and themes, reminding myself that I'm not a brand. I'm human and can publish anything I want.